ARC Review: Do Not Disturb by A.R. Torre

Title: Do Not Disturb
Author: A.R. Torre/Alessandra Torre
Genre: Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone Book 2 of Deanna Madden series
POV: Shifting – Multiple
Release Date: April 21, 2015

 

Equal parts Dexter and 50 Shades, this is the eagerly awaited follow-up to the daring erotic thriller, The Girl in 6E, by A.R. Torre.

1. Don’t leave the apartment.
2. Never let anyone in.
3. Don’t kill anyone.

The rules were simple and I broke them.
Now I must face the consequences.
Everyone else must face me.

Amazon  |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

After being confined in her home for 3 years to protect others from her killer instinct, Deanna Madden had a brief stint in the open world. Now that she had a little taste (of freedom and blood), she craved for more. But venturing out was a tricky business because it would not only endanger others, but also her own self.

It’s been a long time since I last awarded a book the full 5 stars but this book definitely deserved every single red feather. Do Not Disturb was a fast paced, equally erotic and bloody thriller that took me on a wild exciting ride.

The book started 2 weeks after the end of the first book. After being out in the open, Deanna craved more freedom. She started to re-learn the joy of doing something as simple as looking out at the stars while still being the same cam girl with deadly urges.

The first time Jeremy came by after work, he couldn’t focus, his eyes tripping over my naked form, heels still on. He, in as few words as possible, politely told me to put some clothes on before he ate me alive.

I love how Jeremy, even though he didn’t know much about her, helped her re-acquainted with normalcy, like putting on clothes. One of my favorite scenes was her venture into the gas station store. The whole time I was thinking how proud I was of her to take the steps but at the same time I also wanted her to snap. Even simple thing like that made the readers hold on to the edge of their seat!

In this book, Deanna faced a much tougher adversary. The villain was very organized with unlimited means to get to his goal. He didn’t even need to dirty his hand. But for his latest “adventure” he was willing to do so because he felt challenged and he had the upper hand.

I definitely love this book better than the first one. This one had a lot more romance without it being fluffy which is very important because this is not a romance book.

“Can you rip his head off for me? Start pushing at his forehead until it snaps the fuck off? Yank in and rip out tendril after tendril of veins and organs until he is a hot dripping mess of blood?”

This one was also a lot bloodier and graphic – both in term of her imaginations and the actual scenes. I absolutely love being in her head, exploring the dark thoughts and the possible scenarios.

Women love the hacker angle. It makes a normal guy seem dangerous, connected. Makes them think he can, with a few strokes of deft fingers, accomplish anything he wants to.

Mike has always been my favorite since the first book and his major role in this book made me deliriously happy like how Deanna would feel when she got the opportunity to kill – getting all turned on with dark thoughts swirling… haha!

He is my enabler, my protector, my partner in crime. 

I love seeing Mike and Deanna’s friendship. He was one of the very few people who she could call a friend, and the one who knew the most about who/what she really was.

It turned out Mike had a lot more in common with Deanna, and he had his own secrets to keep. We got to learn some of them, but there were still things I NEED to know about him and I’m wishing we’ll get that in the next book.

Overall, I’m very happy with this book with how each of the characters evolved. I’m looking forward to the next book, If You Dare.

 

Note #1: The Deanna Madden series is a standalone series. Each book is a standalone story but you will need prior knowledge from previous book to fully experience this book.

Note #2: Special thanks goes to Alessandra Torre for providing the chatty Shhluts from the  Shh… group on Goodreads with ARCs. And thank you to the ladies for the cock-full, umm… I mean chock-full of fun in the BR!

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Final Verdict:

 

 

Website |  Facebook |  Twitter  | Pinterest  | Amazon  |  Goodreads

Alessandra Torre is a New York Times Bestselling author who focuses on contemporary erotica. Her first book, Blindfolded Innocence, was published in July 2012, and was an Erotica #1 Bestseller for two weeks. She hit the NYT list with her sixth novel, Black Lies.

Alessandra lives in the gulf coast of Florida and is married, with one young child. She enjoys reading, spending time with her family, and playing with her dogs. Her favorite authors include Lisa Gardner, Gillian Flynn, and Jennifer Crusie.

Leave a Reply

