Review: Stygian by Nashoda Rose

Title: Stygian
Author: Nashoda Rose
Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance
Type: Book 1 of Scars of Wraiths Prequal
POV: First Person – Multiple

 

Danni
I remember nothing of my abduction two years ago. Sounds and scents trigger horrific flashes, but it’s all a blur except for one man with brilliant green eyes. When the tatted six foot two Adonis shows up at my door, my knowledge of the world is shattered.
Bound to the immortal Scar by an ancient spell, we are on the run. Because Balen is the hunted.
And if he dies, so do I.

Balen: Scar
My code of honor was respected without question … until I consumed the blood of a vampire in exchange for a mortal woman’s freedom.
The Scars want me imprisoned. The Wraiths want me dead.
But the woman I can’t forget needs me. And I’ll risk everything to protect her.
Even if it means killing her.

Because in order for her to live—first she must die.

 

Amazon  |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

Copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review

Danni was a human still haunted by her abduction two years before. She couldn’t remember anything of it except for a man with a brilliant green eyes that she immortalized in numerous paintings.

Balen was a Scar; an immortal warrior whose job was to protect humans from their enemies. He held the key to unlock Danni’s past and it became complicated when their future was bound to each other.

I read very little of paranormal books but when I do, I want them to be full of actions on and off the bed. Stygian successfully satisfied both of my needs.

When I first read Take (the first book in Scars of Wraiths series), I felt it was very little on the paranormal side and there were confusion with the world and the purposed of the different species. Stygian answered all of the questions I had.

The four Elemental Wraiths remained in the realm of, what I referred to as, a fantasy land. Because what you saw was not always what it was. The Wraiths were creative when it came to their home.

The readers were introduced to the different realms and the different species including their background origins and their purposes. There were a lot to take it but I enjoyed learning about it all. My only complain of this matter is, I wish there were more physical descriptions of the location especially on the other realms because I’d love to be immersed in the new unfamiliar environment.

I absolutely love the premise of a human and an immortal. When people come from two different worlds (in this case literally) things are bound to get intriguing. And I love how we got to learn about the worlds through their eyes.

Balen was definitely something. From the beginning he was such an enigma. He made me all hot and needy hahah! There’s just something about his persona that’s very attractive. Maybe it was what he did and his resistance. But also his “roughness” in the beginning. He softened towards the end but I still love him.

I like Danni too. I thought she was really brave getting into a world she didn’t understand.  I love seeing how she learned and embraced the new world even when it was too hard to handle.

I love that there were so many characters in the books and love the multiple POV. I always like when a story focuses on broader subject other than the two main characters. In this book we also got the side story of Waleron and Delara.

“Who are you? What do you want with me?”

 He grunted. “I want you not to be so fuckin’ stupid next time. And the name’s Kilter.”

One of my favorite character in Stygian is hands down the off-kilter, Kilter. I fell in love with him the moment he uttered his first word. I could feel there’s so much more to him than his abrasive personality.

My favorite scene in the whole book was the transformation scene. That was crazy and pretty intense. Love it. That’s all I’m going to say about that part.

Overall, I really enjoyed the world of the Scars and the Wraiths, and really looking forward to the next book Tyrant which will be about my new favorite asshole, Kilter.

 

Final Verdict:

Note: Special thanks to Nashoda Rose for putting up with my Kindle-less situation (thus ARC-less) and provided me with the copy upon released. Thank you for being so understanding. You rock!

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  TSU  |  Instagram

Nashoda Rose is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Toronto with her assortment of pets. She writes contemporary romance with a splash of darkness, or maybe it’s a tidal wave.

When she isn’t writing, she can be found sitting in a field reading with her dogs at her side while her horses graze nearby. She loves interacting with her readers on Facebook and chatting about her addiction—books.

Leave a Reply

