Review: By Any Other Name by J.M. Darhower

Title: By Any Other Name
Author: J.M. Darhower
Genre: Romantic Thriller/Suspense
Type: Book 1 of Forbidden series
POV: Third Person – Dual
Rating:

 

ByAnyOtherName1

Genna Galante was the daughter of a notorious mob Boss. Even coddled and protected by her father and brother, she always seemed to find trouble. One day her trouble brought her to the courthouse where she met with Matty B.

They stuck up a friendship until they realized who each other really was. Matty B. turned out to be Matteo Barsanti, the first born son to a rival crime boss the Barsanti family.

The Galantes and the Barsantis used to be allies until an event blew everything apart making them mortal enemies. Genna and Matteo defied the odd and chose to be together in secret. But secrets could only hold for so long and the repercussion of their choices could very well mean another deadly war.

I’ve always been a fan of mafia/cartel romance because I love some actions on the street in between actions on the bed. Before starting this book, I was hoping for some blood spill, but that didn’t actually happened by much.

“You’re right that we shouldn’t. But I won’t agree that we can’t. We can, and I want to.”

By Any Other Name focused more on the romantic aspect than the family business, and I’m actually okay with it because I loved the story. The story of young forbidden love might sounds cliché but when set in the crime world, it made a much more interesting read.

One of the things I love about J.M. Darhower books are she wrote young characters but the writing made them seemed more mature than their actual age – which is a good thing for me.

“That was totally better than sex.”

Matty laughed, stepping toward her, his gaze intense as he leaned close. “Something tells me you’ve been having sex with the wrong people, then.”

I loved Matty. He was just a reluctant Mafia prince (which reminds me of Carmine *sighs*) who wanted a girl he shouldn’t have. I adore him from the very beginning.

ByAnyOtherName2

I like Genna too. She could hold on her own against Matty and I especially love their innuendo filled banters. One of my favorite one was the “10 inch steak scene” and it was amusing to find out that was an actual real life experience by the author.

I also love both of supporting characters Enzo (Matty’s brother) and Dante (Genna’s brother). I find myself wanting more of them.

The conclusion of this book was pretty open ended and I’m really looking forward to see which direction it will go.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

