Blog Tour, Interview + Giveaway: Slow Burn by K. Bromberg

slow burn - blog tour


Title: Slow Burn
Author: K. Bromberg
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance
Type: Standalone Book 5 of Driven series

 

ONE NIGHT. THAT’S ALL IT WAS SUPPOSED  TO BE.

Reeling from the sudden loss of her sister, Haddie Montgomery has sworn off relationships. All she wanted from Beckett Daniels was a sexy distraction to help her escape her pain for just a little while….There weren’t supposed to be any strings attached—so why can’t she shake the memory of that unforgettable night from her thoughts? Or the taste of his kiss from her lips?

No matter how hard Haddie tries to forget about him, Becks relentlessly tries to prove that she should start living for today. But she is determined to avoid romantic commitment, and she can always use her ex-boyfriend’s reappearance to help snuff out the slow burn within her that Becks has sparked….

Or will fate force her to realize that this kind of connection doesn’t come along very often and a chance at love is worth the risk?

Click for Slow Burn Playlist!

 

slow burn teaser 4

 

Amazon USAmazon UKB&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

Are you a full time author, or do you have a day job?
I am in fact a full time author now…well, author, PR person, graphic designer…all that is included in being an author these days. Lol. But seriously, I quit my day job as a bookkeeper in late February of last year because the demands were getting to be too much and then I signed a deal with Penguin, NAL and I knew it wasn’t fair to my employer because I wasn’t giving my job the attention it deserved.

 

Do you have any rituals/habits when you write?
Rituals, no. Habits…Well I usually always have a Diet Coke on one side of my computer and earbuds in my ears because I have to listen to music. (I guess I should clarify that I have one earbud in because I’m listening to my kids with the other ear J). But the music I listen to has to be music I know the words to by heart or else I find myself getting distracted from my writing and try to listen to the words of the song…so I listen to the same music over and over.

 

Tell us about your writing process. Do you plan things beforehand or do you just go with the flow?
I am a big time outliner. I have to map out everything in long hand before I even start typing. With that said, things change in my plot as I write and usually the best part of my stories are those spur of the moment changes. The more I write though, the more comfortable I am changing things up. For instance the plot line of SLOW BURN…it took a completely different direction than my outline and I fought it and fought it and then decided to listen to my characters and it made the book. So…I’m a planner but I’ve learned to allow change to happen.

 

What do you do when encountered with a writer’s block?  
I usually step away for a day or two. I think I’ve only skipped a scene one time and gone back to it. If I’m on deadline and don’t have time to step away, I write the bare bones of the scene and then once I work through the next scene, I go back to it and fix it. Sometimes your head isn’t in the right place and if you see where the story goes next, you can go back and fix it.

 

Does your family read your books? Wonder what they think of all the hot sexy times!
My Mom is the first person who reads all of my books – before I even turn them into the editor. (I know that sounds crazy, but she’s super cool.)  My husband read DRIVEN and UnRAVELED (he’s not a big reader) and then he stopped reading…he got a little jealous of Colton…wondered if he was my dream guy.

 

Does any of the characters you wrote reflected yourself?
My husband says that when he read DRIVEN, every time he read Rylee’s thoughts he thought it was me. I disagree but there are parts of me in Rylee. My oldest girlfriend though says when she reads Haddie’s parts in the Driven Series, she hears my voice. So I guess being a female, parts of myself are going to be in my female characters some…but they are not me per se.

 

If you could bring one character (from any of your book) to life, who would it be and why?
Hmm that’s hard. That’s like asking me to pick a favorite child. I’ll plea the fifth on this one.

 

If you’re forced to kill one of your characters, which one would be the sacrificial lamb?
Ha. Tawny. That was easy.

 

Which books was the hardest and easiest to write?
I think each book has a hard and easy part. CRASHED was difficult because I wanted to make Rylee and Colton’s ending perfect and deserving of their journey…not just for the reader but for myself as well. I fell in love with these characters as much as you all have. SLOW BURN was also difficult in the sense that I wanted to prove I could write something other than Rylee and Colton to the skeptics out there. And then when the plot didn’t seem to be working, I had a hard time taking the story where I did because I was curious whether readers would want to read that plotline…and I’m really glad I did. I think it will resonate profoundly with readers.

 

Would you venture into another genre? If yes, which one?
Of course. There are plenty of genres I’d love to write and have many ideas for: new adult, romantic suspense, etcetera.

 

Would you do collaboration in the future? If yes, who is your dream author to collaborate with?
Hm. I’m not sure. I did a small collaboration with M. Pierce of an exclusive scene for our reader groups and it was a lot of fun. No pressure…just writing for the pure joy of writing and we both enjoyed it immensely. Not knowing where the other person was going to take the story, etc…but to do that for a whole book? I’m not sure if I could (I’m a bit of a control freak when it comes to where I’m taking a story)or even take a guess who I’d want to collaborate with.

 

What inspired you to write about Becks and Haddie?
I think they had an incredible story to tell. Haddie is always ‘on’ in the Driven series and I looked forward to showing the side that no one else gets to see with her. And personally, I love Becks…I’m actually immensely pleased with their journey. More so than I ever could have imagined and I’m sure excited for readers to fall in love with them as well.

 

Can you share your favorite quote from Slow Burn?
There are a lot of quotes I LOVE in SLOW BURN but many of them would give away events that happen in the book or kill the moment in a scene. There are a few ones between Colton and Becks that are just…classic…so one that I can share that won’t give anything away is: “We’ve got hearts to break and high heels to wear…”

 

Now let’s get to the fun part of this or that questions. Feel free to elaborate.
Vanilla or chocolate?
Chocolate. Definitely chocolate.

 

Day or night?
Hmmm. Day for my kids. Night because I get to write.

 

Beach or snow?
Beach. There’s a reason I live in Southern California.

 

Rock star or movies star?
Depends on my mood. I’m writing a rock star right now so I’ll say rock star.

 

Private jet or luxury yacht?  
Hmm. Neither. I’m not big on that kind of thing. I’d rather use the money for other things.

 

Go back to the past or see the future?   
I’d like to see the future. See what my kids are like as adults and what their kids are like. I won’t get to see that at some point and so I’d love to get a glimpse. I can’t change the past and I’ve lived it so the only thing I think I would have done was use a pen name. 🙂

 

Poor and long life, or wealthy but die young? 
Poor and long life because money isn’t what make you happy.

 

Being tasered or fall into a frozen lake?
Tasered. Frozen lake is less appealing. (And what kind of question is that? Lol)

Let’s just say I’m researching psychological aspects of torture? Haha!

 

Late sleeper or early riser?
I’m an early riser. I have 3 kids that have to get to school on time so I have to get up early no matter how late I stay up to write.

 

Spiderman, Batman, Superman or Ironman?
Spiderman. He’s the one who started the whole superhero chant because my son was watching him over and over so I’ll go with Spiderman.

Thank you so much for taking the time to ask me some questions. I can’t wait for you to read SLOW BURN!!

 

Thank YOU for being such a good sport and answering my questions including the weird ones!  (Now I have an ammo should I ever need to use one against you. Maybe you shouldn’t go near frozen lakes for the time being LOL!)

 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Amazon

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author K. Bromberg is that reserved woman sitting in the corner who has you all fooled about the wild child inside of her—the one she lets out every time her fingertips touch the computer keyboard.

lives in Southern California with her husband and three children. When she needs a break from the daily chaos of her life, you can most likely find her on the treadmill or with Kindle in hand, devouring the pages of a good, saucy book.

On a whim, K. Bromberg decided to try her hand at this writing thing. Her debut novels, Driven, Fueled, and Crashed of The Driven Trilogy were well received and went on to become multi-platform bestsellers as well as landing on the New York Times and USA Today lists. Her other works include a short story, UnRaveled, and a companion piece to The Driven Trilogy titled Raced. She is currently working on three stand alone Driven novels, Slow Burn, Sweet Ache, and Hard Beat. She also plans to release a novel addressing the 10 year gap at the ending of Crashed in late fall 2015

 

 

$500 AMAZON GIFT CARD

Enter Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

