Review: Dirty Deeds by Karina Halle

Title: Dirty Deeds
Author: Karina Halle
Genre: Adult Romantic Suspense
Type: Standalone Book 2 of Dirty Angels trilogy
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

 

 

The ones who do the dirty deeds can never really be washed clean.

Derek Conway was an American ex-soldier resided in Mexico. He worked as a mercenary for the highest bidder, jumping from one cartel to another, never dipping his feet in one place for too long.

A fateful phone call brought him to the beautiful flight attendant, Alana Bernal. Alana happened to be one of the two remaining sister of Javier Bernal, the notoriously ambitious cartel boss.

A mistake led to Derek being Alana’s protector. While on the run, hearts started to soften risking another single mistake could be the end of both of them.

I have to admit I never found Derek to be attractive in The Artists Trilogy because I was too blinded by Javier’s sex appeal. But I did found him mysterious and intriguing – I wanted to know more about him.

DirtyDeeds

Now that we finally got his book, I still feel like I didn’t know him (and still didn’t like him enough) because I just couldn’t connect with his character. I was hoping for someone more… hardcore maybe. Derek just seemed too mild.

I’m feeling the same with Alana. She was okay, but still not interesting enough for my liking. She could use a little more character development. And their sexy times were lukewarm too.

I was falling in love with this man. Fast and hard, just the way he lived and fucked. I wondered if he would love the same way too.

The story was decent, but I wish there was something more to it. I like that we got enough actions, so that parts kept my attention. From the direction of this book, I’m counting on the last book to have an explosive ending – one way or another.

P.S.: I know I’m being hard and it’s unfair to compare this series to TAT but this is a spin-off so it’s pretty much inevitable.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

