ARC Review: Dark Needs by T.M. Frazier

GRadd

Title: Dark Needs
Author: T.M. Frazier
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 1.5 of Dark Light of Day series
POV: First Person – Male
Rating:
4.5

 

ARC won from author’s giveaway on Goodreads

Note: Dark Needs is a companion novella to Dark Light of Day. If you haven’t read the main novel you can still read my review as it has no spoiler from either book.

Dark Needs started right where Dark Light of Day ended – the night Jake came back from exacting his revenge for his family. He came back carrying a fear of being rejected by the one he loved for what he did. But his fear was unwarranted because Abby had the same hunger in her that needed feeding.

They lived their lives as a normal family for a year until Jake’s past came back to haunt him. With his family’s happiness hung in the balance, Jake must learn to accept who he really was in order to keep everything together.

DivSml

When I first read Dark Light of Day, I was captured by the angst and the grittiness of the story. I fell in love with both Jake and Abby because not only they were broken, but they came with their own personal set of darkness.

I was so excited when I found out this companion novella was in the making. Though I have to admit I was a little apprehensive when an author attempted to extend stories I love because it could go to two opposite directions. It could be a closure or it could ruin what was good.
DarkNeeds
This novella almost went to the negative side. I love that it’s in Jake POV and we got to see his fears as he was forced to answer the mistakes of his past. But at some point I was worried he was losing his touch because it seemed to me he was heading towards the white picket fences thing.

What I love the most about Jake was his unapologetic personality, and thank god it came back in the epilogue. And I have to say what an epilogue! I was flipping out when we’re introduced to someone who we haven’t met, but I’m already loving him.

Dark Needs was a nice little novella to sate your need for T.M. Fraziers’ writing while waiting for something bigger and badder 😉

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

