Review: Verum by Courtney Cole

GRadd

Title: Verum
Author: Courtney Cole
Genre: Psychological Thriller/Suspense
Type: Book 2 of The Nocte Trilogy
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:
5.1

Verum1
Verum began with Calla agreeing to go to Whitley, England with Dare to her grandmother’s estate. She was supposed to be in recovery mode after learning of the truth unveiled at the end of the first book. But as she meandered through the ground of the stately estate she met new people and situations that offered more questions than answers.

Yes, that’s all I’m going to say about the storyline because you have to experience it yourself. Let it take you down the rabbit hole then allow yourself to float in a sea of insanity in order to appreciate the beauty of the story.

Verum2

When I read Nocte, I didn’t foresee the revelations. I only realized how brilliantly the clues were subtly presented throughout the book after the truth was unveiled.

So when I started Verum, I took that in mind. I started looking for clues and much to my dismay, I started to put things together and figured things out along the way. I didn’t like that because I wanted to be surprised. Because of that I thought I wasn’t going to like this one as much as I did with Nocte.

However, just as I thought I uncovered everything, I was suddenly blindsided by the last chapter. The rug was violently pulled from under my feet, I tumbled down, hit my head hard, and now I can’t trust the truth anymore!

Verum3

One of the things I love about this book was the location. I love the gloominess of the environment, inside and outside. One of my favorite new characters was the boy with the hood. He seriously scared me.

As much as I love this one, I am worried about what’s coming in the next book. It has to blow everything out of the water. Can Courtney Cole repeat the success for the third time with Lux? It’s a tall order, but I surely hope so.

With that, I’d like to end this with a quote from the book that perfectly summed up my feeling about this series:

Verum4
P.S.: I think this book is one of the most quotable books I’ve read. There’s so much exquisiteness in the metaphorical phrases that I want to include in the teasers so forgive me if there’s too much graphic lol!.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

