Review: One Love by Lili St. Germain

Title: One Love
Author: Lili St. Germain
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 7 of Gypsy Bothers novella serial
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

 

“Sometimes, it’s better the devil you know,”

The Gypsy Brothers series ended with major bloodshed. There were a lot of violence and graphic brutality towards Juliette’s final goal. She and Jase formed an unlikely alliance with someone from their past in the race against time to rescue Elliot’s family and nail Dornan.

I like all the actions (even with all the cringe worthy scenes) in this book and I love how it ended for most of them – except for Elliot which felt a little unfinished/left out. One of my favorite scene was “Donny on the table” scene. That was sickeningly amusing.

Because, in our world, it takes the taste of death in your mouth, bloody and warm, to truly understand what it means to be alive.

 

Series Overview (4 Stars)
As I stated in my review for book one of the series, I love the idea of a story of revenge. It had a great potential and by the end of the series, I think it didn’t completely lived up to it.

I love the idea of a kick-ass heroine and Juliette was certainly one. But throughout the series I had hard time feeling for her even with all the horrible things she been through. It was mainly because she had too hard of an edge. There were times she was downright sociopathic. There was not enough vulnerability in her to make me care.

There were also plenty of scenes with questionable plausibility and there were also inconsistency in the storyline.

My favorite character throughout the series is definitely Dornan. I get where he came from and his motivations. That is why I’m looking forward to the new full series Cartel.

Note: I love the titles of the series with how it count down to the finale and the significance of it.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

