Review: Bold Tricks by Karina Halle

Title: Bold Tricks
Author: Karina Halle
Genre: Romantic Suspense/ Erotic
Type: Book 3 of The Artists Trilogy
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

I fell in love with this series the moment I started chapter one of Sins & Needled. On Every Street and Shooting Scars we both equally entrancing as well. I do love Bold Tricks, but I’m still having hard time deciding if I’m happy with the ending.

This book picked up where the last book ended. Ellie, Camden and Javier had no choice but to work together to find Javier’s sister and rescued Gus and Ellie’s mother from their common enemy. Going on an impossible mission, they needed back up and teamed up with two of Javi’s associates. Their mission eventually took them to Honduras with another man joining their team. The six of them armed with weapons and knowledge had to battle not only their enemies but also wary of each other’s loyalty and intentions.

Bold Tricks 1

I’m not an advocate for book to movie transition, but if I have to choose one it would be this series. With this book (and throughout the series) readers were taken on a wild ride from different places in different modes of transportation with all guns blazing. It was thrilling and exciting, and the whole time I was imagining it in my head how it would look like on the big screen.

Besides the actions what I love the most about the series is how rich the characters were, no matter if they’re the main characters or supporting. They were multilayered and kept you guessing which side they’re on. That’s the thing that I had a hard time with in this book. I want the characters to keep guessing, I want myself to keep guessing, but we pretty much know how it’s going to be in the end.

I love Ellie with all her flaws. I love the confusion she had with the men she cared about. In this book she made her decision pretty much early on. I can’t blame her for her choice but I was hoping it was more of a heart wrenching, soul searching choice than something she easily set in stone.

“I had to do some things that I’m not proud of too.” There was a rawness in his tone, like he was close cracking open. “I don’t think you and I can ever go back to being the people we were before.”

Of course I love Camden. His loyalty to Ellie never wavered from the very beginning. I was sad for him for what Ellie did in the previous book and happy that in this book he had his moments of hesitation.

Bold Tricks 2

Javier… well yeah, even though Camden’s loyalty was legendary, I couldn’t resist the temptation that is Javier. I was Team Javier for most of the series, now I am sure Team Javier. Judge me all you want I don’t care haha!

Bold Tricks 3

It’s safe to say he is my favorite villain of any books so far. I wasn’t very happy with how Ellie saw him and how he was portrayed in this book. He was the most interesting character out of the bunch because he was such a volatile wild card. I wish there was more to him in this book.

I have to say, the two characters in this book seemed to keep choosing the most inappropriate time and place to get down and dirty. One of my favorite scenes in the book was definitely the wet muddy rainforest floor scene.

I’m definitely looking forward to the spin-off series Dirty Angels.

A little note for Javier Bernal:

Bold Tricks 4

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

