Review: Mai Tai’d Up by Alice Clayton

 

Title: Mai Tai’d Up
Author: Alice Clayton
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Book 4 of Coctail series
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

This book is a light, easy, fun reading of a newly single girl looking re-examining her life. Chloe recently ditched her intended the morning they were supposed to get married because she couldn’t be someone’s trophy. Having a hovering mother didn’t help her case either.

So to get away from it all, she visited her father’s vacation home in hope of figuring out what she wanted to do with her life. There, with the help of a friend, she started a rescue center for dogs which led to her meeting with a hot ginger vet Lucas.

Lucas had been burned badly by his ex and just got out of an almost marriage, so both of them were taking things slowly until the attraction can’t be contained anymore. But Chloe hasn’t been forthcoming to Lucas and her secret was jeopardizing their blossoming relationship.

I do love this book. It’s light and fun which is something I do in between the heavy dark reads. Though, I think it’s too light for my liking.

I love how their relationship progressed organically and they had great chemistry. But the plot was too simple as in the issue that rose from their relationship was brought up and settled too quickly. It’s just a personal preference, because I know we all could use some light reading once in a while to just enjoy the ride. Also, it could use some more sexy times to spice it up a bit.

I love Chole. I love her monologue – the beauty queen who still trying to be prim and proper even without her mother hovering around anymore. It’s a lot of fun being in her head.

As he reached for the highest rafter his T-shirt slipped up, revealing an inch or so of tanned skin. I licked my lips without thinking, then grimaced at the taste of paint. Gross.

Fudge it might be my new favorite curse word haha! I love Lucas too.  I never thought ginger man could be so hot!

My favorite scene was how Chloe and Lucas had an insinuating conversation in front of Marge after their first paddle boarding activity. That was fun and I love Marge and her matchmaking tendency.

Overall it’s a fun light read perfect for spending some alone time with.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

