Review: Nine Minutes by Beth Flynn

Title: Nine Minutes
Author: Beth Flynn
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 1 of Nine Minutes series
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

I’m going to start by being completely honest. If I see the cover in a lineup of new/recommended list, I would not pick it up. I suppose it has the 70s vibe of the book timeframe, but it just doesn’t appeal to me.

But I’ve been seeing buzz around this book so my curiosity piqued and after reading the synopsis, I knew it’s the kind of story that I would like. Though, I have to admit, I was a bit apprehensive about the timeframe because I prefer contemporary books. Well, let me tell you when people say don’t judge a book by its cover (or timeframe for that matter), it couldn’t be truer for Nine Minutes.

This book gripped me and ripped me right from the prologue. That is when we learned the significance of the title Nine Minutes.

 

It took nine minutes. It sounds quick. Less than ten minutes. But for me, it was an eternity.

 

From there on, I knew it was going to be a bumpy ride.

The prologue took place in the year 2000 where Ginny witnessed the “ending of her previous life”. The chapters went on as a story she’s telling a reporter about her life in the 70s.

 

At 15, she made a mistake that cost her freedom. She was brought to dilapidated Glades Motel, the base of the Satan’s Army MC as a gift to Grizz their president. There, she learned to love her captor, became his weakness and his eventual downfall.

Nine Minutes 1

 

Nine Minutes is a page turner for sure. Every few chapters I was left either sad, shock or both. I love how Ginny would reveal a snippet of her life and we would only know the significance of it later on the in book. I make you want to keep turning the pages.

Nine Minutes 2

I love Grizz. Love, love, love him! I love how it started from caring, to obsessing to loving. He may have not done it the right way, he may have not been a “good person” but he was good to her. The sacrifices he made for her made me want to give him a bear hug. After the kitten scene, it was hard not to love him.

I love Grunt from the beginning with how he was so nice to Ginny and how he helped her when Grizz ordered him to do something about her “situation”. He captured my heart with his background story and how much he worked to get out of that life.

 

I also love Moe. God, she broke my heart. That’s all I need to say.

 

I suspected who Ginny’s new husband was, but still I was so happy when it was confirmed. I felt like it made up for all the past heartaches. But the ending pretty much threw me off (in a good way). It changed everything that happened. And so, that’s what will be addressed in book two of this series. We’ll get to relive the story from a new perspective that still revolved around love and obsession. Seriously looking forward to it.

 

Note: The book is not exactly dark (at least not by my standard) but it certainly gritty. This is not an MC book. This is about a girl’s journey of survival within the MC compound without focusing on the bikers’ culture and lifestyle.

 

This review also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

