ARC Review: Skip To The Good Part (Vol 1)

Title: Skip to the Good Part: 20 authors reveal their steamiest scenes (Volume 1)

Author: Raine Miller, Kendall Ryan, K. Bromberg, Carly Phillips, Denise Grover Swank, S.L. Scott, Christine Bell, Rebecca Shea, Andrea Smith, Magan Vernon, Kristie Cook , Nevaeh Lee & Michelle Lynn , Alessandra Thomas, Selena Laurence ,Heidi Joy Tretheway ,Elizabeth Briggs, Meghan March
Taylor Michaels, K.B. Nelson , Elise Covert
Genre: Erotic Romance
Type: Anthology
Release Date: Nov 20, 2014
Publisher: Jasper Ridge Press
Pre-Order Links: Amazon    |    Kobo

Rating:4/5

 

 

Find your next red-hot read in this sizzling collection of sexy scenes from top authors including New York Times and USA Todaybestsellers.

The collection features a British alpha who wants to turn a good girl bad, a woman realizing her impetuous marriage to a stripper isn’t all bad, a bad boy boxer who could use a large dose of sexual healing, a carnie who has found new and inventive uses for fun house mirrors, and a rocker who wants to woo the girl who got away: his high school sweetheart.

This excerpt collection features 20 of the best steamy scenes in contemporary romance and erotic romance today. Each scene in this 250-page collection will get your blood pumping, your heart racing, and your skin tingling.

You’re sure to discover a new favorite.

Due to the graphic nature of some content, this collection is recommended strictly for mature readers.

ARC provided by  InkSlinger PR, in exchange for an honest review

 

Note:This is a collection of steamiest sex scenes. If you do not read such materials, do not read this review because I have no way of reviewing this (with details) without being possibly crude – I mean how else do you judge a sex scene right? Heh!)

Skip To The Good Part Cover

If you’re in the mood for a good erotic scenes, but too lazy to flip the pages to get to the good parts, this book is the perfect solution. With 20 “actions” from 20 authors, at least one will bound to get you hot and bothered.

This book has a good range of characters and situations. From English Lord to drug lord. From rock star to fight star. From slow and steady to fast and hard. From plain vanilla to kinky fuckery. Yeah, you should get the idea by now.

Personally I think a sexy scene is made sexier when you feel connected to the characters. I was worried about this before I started reading since I’ve only read one of the book included in this collection. Some scenes included a brief summary or a little background scene before the money shot scenes which helped the reader to get to know the characters. There were also a few that went straight to the act.

Below are my summaries of what each scene were comprised of so you’ll get some idea what to expect.

 

Raine Miller
Key words: Male POV, breast appreciation, first encounter
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 3/5
Notable Quote:

I knew I had a big cock, but what was more important than the size was that I knew well how to use it.

 

Kendall Ryan
Key words: Sex slave, virgin, BJ
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4.5/5 (Never thought BJ could be so sexy)
Notable Quote:

“Honestly, I’d love a blowjob, but considering the mistrust in your eyes, I’m not sure having your teeth that close to my dick would be the wisest decision.”

 

K.Bromberg
Key words: Formal wear, semi public place, sex (the act) on Sex (the car)
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4/5 (A sexy sacrilege of red Italian stud!)
Notable Quote:

“Your car … Sex.” I cringe but at the same time feel ridiculous calling the car that name. “I hope I didn’t scratch it.

 

Carly Phillips
Key words: Tongue lashing (not the verbal kind, ahem!), tie + headboard
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4/5

“I told you not to move, and when you come, you’re going to know it’s me who brought you there.”

 

Denise Grover Swank
Key words: Cramped space, roadside, heavy rain (Mmm….tight and wet… eh… I meant the car and the weather)
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4/5
Notable Quote:

“I like it when you wear skirts,” he mumbles. “I can see your sexy legs, and it gives me easy access.”

 

Skip2

S.L. Scott
Key words: Vegas, one night stand
Sheet Grabbing Rating:3.5/5
Notable Quote:

“You sleep with your mouth open, which is very fucking tempting,”

 

Christine Bell
Key words: Dual POV, multiple orgasm, boxer hero (instant panty melter for me)
Sheet Grabbing Rating:3/5
Notable Quote:

Her want-glazed eyes locked onto my waistband, where the head of my cock was fighting the good fight for freedom.

 

Rebecca Shea
Key words: Dual POV, tied up, toys
Sheet Grabbing Rating:4/5
Notable Quote:

“Answer me. Did you like that?”
“Y… y…yes,” she stutters.
“Good. Because that’s the last time you’re going to use a fucking vibrator to get you off. Do you understand?”

 

Andrea Smith
Key words: Sweet talker Brit (swoon worthy), sensual love making
Sheet Grabbing Rating:4/5
Notable Quote:

“I love your laugh. If I could,” “I’d make sure you’d always be laughing. And making sure that your smile was never far behind.”

 

Magan Vernon
Key Words: Mile high club (Ooh…), tongue ring (Double ooh…)
Sheet Grabbing Rating:3.5/5
Notable Quote:

I felt like I was about to do something incredibly illegal, like rob a bank or something.

 

Skip1

Alessandra Thomas
Key Words: Truth or dare, PDA, not quite happy ending
Sheet Grabbing Rating:4/5
Notable Quote:

But oh my God, that body. If I snapped a shot of him with my camera phone, I could have sold posters and been an instant billionaire.

 

Heidi Joy Tretheway
Key Words: Dual POV, rock star, TPE, mild back door action
Sheet Grabbing Rating:3/5
Notable Quote:

“Then prove it. Bring me your panties.”
“My—?”
“You heard me. They’d better be in my pocket ten seconds after you get back from the bathroom.”

 

Taylor Michaels
Key Words: Drug lord, dangerous liaison (Why does living on the edge seemed so hot?)
Sheet Grabbing Rating:3/5
Notable Quote:

“If you want to walk, now is the time, bonita. After this—when I have you naked in my bed, I won’t let you go.”

 

Selena Laurence
Key Words: Male POV, slippery shower, long hiatus (Incarceration – long awaited hunger)
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 3.5/5
Notable Quote:

She’s my own personal ice cream cone, sweeter than any of the thirty-one flavors.

 

K.B. Nelson
Key Words: House of mirror, body paint, drug induced (Sexy carnival – no clowns allowed)
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4/5
Notable Quote:

“And I’ve been patient, but I need to hear two words before we begin.”
“Free me, Blue.”
His tongue rolls across his lips. “I was thinking fuck me, but that’ll work.”

 

Neveah Lee & Michelle Lynn
Key Words: Rapper + country darling
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4.5/5
Notable Quote:

“Holy fucking shit, Taryn,” I groan and send up a quick prayer that I make it more than a minute. Not that I deserve for anyone to listen to me, especially when I say shit like that, but I hope they do anyway.

 

Elizabeth Briggs
Key Words: Male POV, tattooed and pierced hero, backseat
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 3/5
Notable Quote:

We’d been each other’s firsts. We’d learned how to please other people by practicing on each other.

 

Meghan March
Key Words: Female piercing
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4/5
Notable Quote:

“So greedy. Can’t a guy take it slow and enjoy the ride?”

 

Elise Covert
Key Words: Private dance, room with a view
Sheet Grabbing Rating: 4.5/5 (This one is my favorite! The illicitness of a giving a free show is very sexy)
Notable Quote:

“You want me to take you against this window. While that man appears to watch. Don’t you?”

 

Kristie Cook
Key Words: Bustier and leather, fast and hard, paranormal
Sheet Grabbing Rating:4/5
Notable Quote:

If he wanted to play our favorite game, he could have held me in place with his power.

 

I have to say some author managed to make me want to pick up their book with just 5000 words of less of preview. And it didn’t even really have a story other than the sex scenes. So, bravo to them.

Overall this is a good starting collection. I’m hoping the next batch will include a more diverse gender variety including ménage, M/M and F/F. Personally I’m not interested in reading MM and FF romance, but I sure am curious to read their sex scenes haha!

Final Verdict:

 This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

