Review: Sins & Needles by Karina Halle

 

Title: Sins & Needles
Author: Karina Halle
Genre: Dark Romance/Action/Suspense
Type: Book 1 of The Artists Trilogy
POV: Shifting Perspective
Rating:

I’ve wanted to read this book for a while since I first saw it on my recommendation list and glad that I finally got the chance to do so. I had a feeling I was going to like this one because its right up my alley since I have a soft spot of messed up characters. And I was right. I love it!

“I’m not bad. The world is bad and I’m just trying to survive in it.”

Ellie grew up with con artists as parent naturally ended up as one herself. After years in the business she finally decided (and hoping it would stick) to go legit. She chose to go back to where she grew up hoping no one will recognize/remember her anymore.

She went to a coffee shop to apply for a job only to bump into Camden, her old high school friends. Camden who was once a high school resident goth, now a hot successful tattoo artist.

Being her only friend when she was in school, she decided to give Camden her time by hanging out with him. As much as he liked him and wanted to go straight, her inner grifting tendency won out and she decided to scam Camden. Things didn’t go as planned and soon a foiled robbery ended up with them going on a run together when her past finally caught up to her.

I love that this book had a good balance of romance, action, suspense and humor. It kept me on my toes and gripped me from the beginning. I love that the POV shifted between the present (first person – female) and the past (third person). It made it easier to distinguish the time frame.

I love both Ellie and Camden. Ellie grew up as a swindler and it was all she knew to do her whole life. She did some horrible things to people Camden included, but I adore her because she was so endearing and amusing.

From the way he was positioned by the window, he almost looked angelic. But angels don’t have tattoos and they certainly don’t have guns in their hands.

As for Camden, I love that he had his own secret and demons to run from. I love how much she cared about Ellie yet he had that little darkness in him that instill fear and question his trustworthiness.

This is my first Karina Halle book and I’m loving her writing already.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

