Horror(fying) Reads

Halloween 2014

In spirit of Halloween, I’d like to share five horrifying (in a good way) books I’ve read so far. I don’t read supernatural/paranormal books but ghosts and zombies are not the only things that can scare you. Instead, I rather read books that were so horrible (also, in a good way), it makes you either want to curl yourself in a ball and hide in dark corner, or go to an open field, dropped yourself to your knee, turn to the sky and cry out “Why God, why?!!!!!”.

 

Most of my selections below touched dark taboo subjects. People tend to look at these books between two extreme – either really love it and think it’s brilliant or really hate it and think it’s a piece of crap. Proceed at your own peril.

Note: Click title for synopsis and purchase links.

 

With My Body by Nikki Gemmell

Genre: Erotic Romance

Type: Standalone book #2 of Bride Trilogy

Horror Factors:

I had hard time when I first read the book due to the writing style. It was narrated using second person POV and the writing can be too poetic sometimes. It took me a few chapters to get into the story but once I got used to it, I was totally immersed in the unnamed main character’s life.

The story was of her flashbacks of her sexual awakening and eventual re-awakening. Her first sexual experience started at the tender age of 14 and from there on she embarked on intense and at times dubious relationship with Tol who not only taught her about sexuality, but also love and life in general.

This book made the list because made me depressed for not living my life as precariously as she did but at the same time horrified at some of the things she did during her “sexual education”. The story was also beautifully steamy and sad.

 

The Riding School by C.P. Mandara

Genre: Erotic/BDSM

Type: Book 1 of Pony Tales short stories serial

Horror Factors:

What would you feel if your father sent you to riding school? Nice isn’t it? What if the riding school’s job is to actually train you as the pony? Not so nice anymore especially when you’re being fitted for a tail shoved in you know where! This book was dark in matter, but also a light and funny read. Jenny had to endure incredibly invasive examinations and measured for her outfit as pony girl.  It is disturbingly erotic and scared me from enrolling into any type of riding school for the fear of being in Jenny’s shoes.

 

Under Mr. Nolan’s Bed by Selena Kitt

Genre: Dark Erotica

Type: Book 1 of Under Mr. Nolan’s Bed series

Horror Factors:

This book has been through several versions of “clean up”. The final version is called Temptation and supposed to be more palatable and less risqué. I thought I was strong enough to stomach the original version, boy was I wrong! You know when people say some things can’t be unseen. This book is one of them for me – it can’t be unread.

Why it was so horrifying? Incest. Questionable ménage. Need I say more? I’m not prude. I’ve read my fair share of erotica but this book’s ick factor was too much. And to think it was shockingly arousing while being incredibly filthy, make me feel like I need to douse myself with kerosene and throw myself into the fiery depth of hell. This book is not for the fainthearted.

 

Comfort Food by Kitty Thomas

Genre: Dark Erotica

Type: Standalone

Horror Factor:

This is one of the mind-fuck kinds of book. It’s a story of forced sexual slavery with no romantic elements to save it from being depth of hell kind of dark. It can’t really be categorized as erotic (something that should turn you on). It was just plan explicit.  This was one of my earliest dark read and it been stuck in my mind since then. The story explored the victim’s psychology and the coping mechanism she chose to survive. The manipulated power of free will what made this book mind blowing. A lot of dark reads are more in the light-dark/grey area, Comfort Food belongs in dark-dark area.

 

 

 The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Genre: Historical Fiction

Type: Standalone

Horror Factor:

I hate this book because it made me do the ugly crying thing from about the second quarter of the book till the end. I love how the author described the volatile place the characters lived in. I always have a soft spot for stories of friendship and childhood innocence and this one grabbed my heart and crushed it to smithereens. This sweeping story of friendship, betrayal and eventual redemption taught a lesson on how one bad decision can span years of horrifying repercussions.

Leave a Reply

