Review: Raced

Raced by K. Bromberg

Title: Raced
Author: K. Bromberg
Genre: Contemporary romance/sports
Type: Companion novella (Book 4) of The Driven Trilogy
POV: First person – male
Rating: 3

“Patience is definitely not my virtue.
And I’m sure as fuck going to steal hers.”

That was Colton Donovan in a nutshell. And yes I do like his arrogant, conceited, egomaniac self because he had vulnerabilities, and the cute superheroes thing. It made him endearing. How can’t you not like him right?

However, this book did not deliver what I was hoping for. I was hoping to learn more about him, specifically his past and how he rose from it. But alas, this book is simply a compilation of scenes from his POV. I’m sorry, but I think this is unnecessary because it can’t even really be called a book. It’s more of something the author would post on her website as fans requests instead of charging for it. Below are my reasons why.

The whole book was too fragmented. It’s been a while since I read the trilogy, so I can’t remember everything. I know the author meant to write from important scenes only, however as a reader I would appreciate if we are given some summary of what happened in between those important chapters.

The first 30% had too many repetitive inner rambling. The “I want her but I don’t want to hurt her” thing kept going on and on, it became annoying.

Throughout the book, I didn’t think I learned anything new about Colton or what he felt. There were new scenes, but it wasn’t enough. I do like the addition of the bromance with Becks though. One of my favorite scenes between the two was their poetic attempts to be romantic.

“Roses are red, tires are black, you’re the only pussy I wanna ride bareback.”

Charming.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

