Review: Enshrine by Chelle Bliss

 

Title: Enshrine
Author: Chelle Bliss
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

 

Callista (Callie) Gentile was always taught to never rely on other people and that’s how she’s been living her life. After a devastating revelation, she retreated into herself and thought she could handle it alone. But soon enough she realized that was not the best decision.

Bruno literally crashed into her life when she needed him the most. The whole town knew of his reputation, but he didn’t let that stopped him from immersing himself into her life. However, his secret could potentially be too much for her to handle.

Looking at the blurb, I probably wouldn’t know what this book is really about. But reading the Preface, I definitely knew what I’m getting into.

He isn’t who I thought he was. Who is he? I know I’ll find out, but do I really want to know?

I liked the overall concept of the book however, I had issues with the connections – of them as a couple and individually. I couldn’t connect to either of them. The secret about him dragged on too long and it wasn’t even surprising by the time it was revealed. Her struggle somehow felt trivial which is a shame because in reality it’s anything but that.

“I wanted to save you. To protect you. To take away your pain and make everything all right. There was no way I’d leave you alone and let you push me away. Not after what we’d shared.”

What happened in their relationship was a noble act, but it felt like it came out of nowhere. I understood her part in it, of why she jumped into it. But his reasoning was not convincing enough. I wanted the story to dig deeper.

“I think that without the struggles in life, we wouldn’t savor the beautiful things. Nothing would be as sweet if it weren’t for the bad.”

Enshrine is a story of finding solace in dark hours. It would appeal to readers who are interested in love story with real life struggles.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.